Old Dominion Household Services

The old school freight trailer company is moving your stuff since 2011

Get My Free Quote

Old Dominion Logo

Updated Thursday, September 12th 2019

Reviews

4.57/5

Pricing

$1,200 - $2,891

Pros
  • Professionals drive that big freight truck for you.
  • A legacy of hauling things cross-country.
  • Booking is easy and can be done completely online.
  • You only pay for the linear footage that you end up using, regardless of estimate.
  • The price for a long-distance move is affordable.
Cons
  • There are many ways to rack up additional fees.
  • No insurance is available; Responsibility for your stuff rests mostly on your shoulders.
  • Planning ahead is more challenging because you aren't given exact times for delivery, drop off or pick up.
  • Local moves are possible, but not recommended

Old Dominion® Moving Company Overview

Old Dominion is a veteran freight line that operates in the United States. Before getting in on the moving act, this company was already in the business of carrying all sorts of cargo across the country. Now, its household division allows those making a move to take advantage of empty space on its 28-foot trailers.

Moving? You book on the Old Dominion website, the truck gets delivered, then you have three days to fill it up with your stuff. On pick up day, a professional driver moves it to your destination and you have an additional three days to unload.

HireAHelper Logo

Free, Instant Moving Quotes

What type of help do you need?
(not sure what you need?)
Old Dominion Logo
Local Move

Under 50 mi.

Medium Distance

50-250 mi.

Long Distance

250+ mi.

Average Cost

$1,200

14.6% cheaper than other companies

$1,175

38.8% cheaper than other companies

$2,891

2.4% cheaper than other companies
Average Review

3/5

33.3% lower than other companies

4.25/5

3.5% lower than other companies

4.59/5

2.2% better than other companies
Average Cost Per Mile

N/A

$7.62

16.8% cheaper than other companies

$2.51

5.6% cheaper than other companies

Local Move

Under 50 mi.

Old Dominion Logo

Compared to Other Companies

Average Cost

$1,200

14.6% cheaper than other companies
Average Review

3/5

33.3% lower than other companies

Medium Distance

50-250 mi.

Old Dominion Logo

Compared to Other Companies

Average Cost

$1,175

38.8% cheaper than other companies
Average Cost Per Mile

$7.62

16.8% cheaper than other companies
Average Review

4.25/5

3.5% lower than other companies

Long Distance

250+ mi.

Old Dominion Logo

Compared to Other Companies

Average Cost

$2,891

2.4% cheaper than other companies
Average Cost Per Mile

$2.51

5.6% cheaper than other companies
Average Review

4.59/5

2.2% better than other companies

Photos of Old Dominion® in the Wild

Old Dominion Freight Trailer
Old Dominion Freight Trailer
Old Dominion Freight Trailer

Old Dominion® Services Offered

Services Legend

  • Available
  • Not Offered
Freight Trailer

Freight Trailer

Pickup Truck

Pick up trucks

Large Moving Container

Large Containers

Delivery Truck Crane

Delivery

Storage Container

Storage

Packing Supplies

Packing Supplies

Hand holding a box

Local Movers

My move with Old Dominion®

Author: Francesca Di Meglio

Updated: Thursday, September 12th 2019

Move Details

For the purposes of this guide, I planned a long distance move (1,100 miles) from a three-bedroom home in Fort Lee, NJ (New York City area) to Kissimmee, FL (Orlando area). Those are two destinations I know well. I ordered the service during busy season for movers (summer). I completed the order and later canceled it.

Here are the specifics about what we'd be hauling into the truck.

I live in a three-bedroom home with two large flights of stairs. In addition to the bedrooms, there are:

  • Two and a half bathrooms
  • A finished basement (which includes a bar and living area with a sofa that turns into a queen-sized bed)
  • A laundry room (with storage under the staircase that includes boxes of holiday decorations)
  • A kitchen, living room (with two sofas, including one that converts to a queen-sized bed)
  • Formal dining room (with a large and heavy china closet filled with delicate china and glasses for entertaining)
  • An attic (with some items in storage, including my wedding dress in a preservation box!)

My parents live in a similarly sized home with three floors and three bedrooms, but they also have the following:

  • An additional room in the basement
  • A garage with landscaping equipment and some other gadgets
  • An internal patio with glass doors that houses holiday decorations and some extra dishes and platters

The quotes I received are based on the info above.

How much is it to move with Old Dominion?

Long-Distance Move Price

For the long-distance move from northern New Jersey to central Florida, Old Dominion's Household services recommended 17 linear feet of trailer space for a three bedroom apartment/house.

I scheduled the move for Aug. 5, 2017, a Saturday. Choosing a holiday or weekend delivery automatically raises the price $500. The total estimate was $2,546. For each additional linear foot used, I would have to pay $64.

Although the hand truck is free, other items cost more; For instance, for $35, you can get five straps. You can also pay $150 per trailer to get a two-hour window drop-off time. This guarantee of delivery time can be very useful if you are hiring Helpers or calling on friends and family to pitch in.

Another option offered by Old Dominion is "live load" or "live unload". With this option, the driver waits for you to pack up the truck, rather than leaving it for three days. This is convenient for those with little to pack into the trailer. It can also be helpful if you can't park the 28-foot trailer overnight. The first hour is free. After that, you'll be charged an hourly rate of $150, so make sure this is feasible for you and will work in favor of your budget.

During the booking process, you will disclose your credit card, which will remain on file. Old Dominion will charge the card while your shipment is in transit (after your "linear footage used" is confirmed). You can also pay by cashier's check or money order. In the latter cases, you will pay the driver at the destination after the delivery is completed.

Local Move Price

Old Dominion suggested my parents sign up for 22 feet of trailer space. This is not surprising for a three-bedroom house with a garage. The total would cost $1,606. They would be charged $1 more for each additional linear foot used. Again, the price was automatically $500 more because it was booked on a weekend date in the summer.

Let me say again that even my agent suggested they handled long-distance moves better. Indeed, upon reading the FAQ, I learned that Old Dominion does not recommend local moves.

Is my stuff inside the Old Dominion freight trailer insured?

For some, the insurance - or rather lack thereof - will be a deal breaker. Old Dominion does not offer any type of liability insurance. In fact, the responsibility mostly lies on your shoulders. The company recommends checking on your homeowner's or renter's insurance policy to see about coverage while your items are in transit. Reads their website,

"Old Dominion is only responsible for loss or damage caused by your negligence and our liability is limited to $.10 per pound per item damaged. We are not responsible for damage caused by improper packing or loading."

The company also warns that the coverage is for carrier negligence and not insurance for your stuff.

Price Thoughts

The price for a long-distance move wasn't bad, in my opinion. After all, by getting a hand from friends or the movers available through HireAHelper, you could easily hack a full-service move at a fraction of the cost by going this freight route.

But for a local move, that's another story.

Honestly, I'm not even sure the company would have been able to make that local move for us. But the site did allow me to book it. On the other hand, it also warned in the FAQ that Old Dominion only provides the most value when your stuff is traveling 300 or more miles away.

Another concern are the additional fees. When I was booking the move, I learned about extra costs associated with items, such as straps, and grew more worried that I would end up spending more than anticipated. For starters, the linear footage is a rough estimate based on the number of rooms in your home. As a result, I could easily imagine a scenario in which I'd need more space than estimated.

You can also end up paying more for a slew of reasons:

  • Parking fees
  • Fines
  • Trailer tows (for which you are responsible)
  • Change in origin/destination (city/zip code)
  • Untimely return of the ramp to the local terminal
  • Equipment detention fees
  • Customs delays
  • Gypsy moth quarantine (for those in California)
  • Storage (if you are unable to unload or don't show up for delivery)
  • Possibly addition of a second trailer (which will cost $300)

These are not only possible, but often likely fees.

Of course, it already costs $500 extra if you have to move on a weekend or holiday, but many people have no choice because of work and other responsibilities. To avoid any of these additional costs, you must know your plans and the specifics of your load well. Really well.

Is a Old Dominion freight trailer right for my move?

This freight service is ideal for people moving to a faraway land, such as Kissimmee, FL (from the tri-state area), and who don't want to drive their bedrooms woth of stuff. It's not so hot for a local move, such as the one we have my parents making. Those who have few variables and can comfortably sign onto the bill of lading are also good candidates. Anyone whose plans may change - even slightly - could find themselves racking up a much bigger bill.

Upsides

You don't have to drive the trailer.

I never tire of applauding companies that make it possible for you to forego driving one of those huge trucks. You know how hard those things are to maneuver? And this one is 28 feet long. Woah baby! In fact, professionals come and drive these freight trucks for you. Freedom!

Old Dominion has experience.

Old Dominion is one of the true originals for moving stuff across the country. With eight decades of service, the company has proven it has staying power. While the moving arm of the business is newer, the concept is still the same. Having a brand name with a history gives you some sense of security.

You don't even have to talk to anyone.

Few experiences with moving companies are as simple as this one. All I had to do was complete a short online form to receive an estimate, and then I was able to book right from there with a simple click of a "Book It" button. It took minutes. The website was so thorough, I didn't even really have any questions. Anyone who isn't a fan of people (c'mon, it's all right) or hates hanging on hold forever will appreciate this convenience. Of course, you can always call if you have questions or prefer talking to a live human being.

You only pay for the space you end up using.

Great news, although this pro could easily become a con. What I mean is that your estimate could say you need about 22 linear feet, but you end up using 25 linear feet. Uh oh, that means you're going to pay additional charges. The reason this is on the pro list, however, is because it works both ways. What I mean is that you will spend less than the estimate if you end up using fewer linear feet than anticipated when booking. Paying for whatever space you use is perfectly fair.

The prices for a long-distance move ain't too shabby.

Considering the amount of space in the freight truck and the distance the driver will have to go, the price for service is affordable. The fact that I wouldn't have to lug all that stuff myself in a giant truck makes it all the more valuable. (Of course, the one caveat is that I had to spend $500 more to move on a Saturday. That's a hefty price to pay for convenience.)

Downsides

There are many ways to rack up more fees.

As I mentioned in the pricing section, you could end up spending considerably more than you planned. After all, it costs extra just to get furniture straps. Also, you could be charged for changes to your bill of lading. You even get charged if you want a two-hour window for your delivery (for either loading or unloading). To be honest, I would have thought that was a given and included. You need to carefully read the FAQ and bill of lading to ensure you don't end up overspending.

No insurance is available through Old Dominion.

This downside does not be a deal breaker for some, as many people find they are covered by their own renter's or homeowner's insurance. But without any insurance from the company, those moving might feel vulnerable. What if there is damage to prized possessions? Based on the website, Old Dominion puts the onus on the owners of the items. In other words, it's up to you to pack your load properly onto the truck. It sounds like it would be hard to prove liability on the part of the driver. It's a risk you'll have to be willing to take.

You won't have a precise schedule.

Old Dominion charges people to get a two-hour window in which you can expect your trailer delivery for you to start loading it. Otherwise, you can't be sure when in the day your trailer will show up. Without knowing exactly when you'll have access to the trailer, you will probably have some trouble planning ahead. Imagine asking your friends to pitch in, having them show up, and then everybody sits around. You could end up going through a lot of beer and toilet paper. And worse if you hired help to load the truck that you're paying them by the hour. Yikes!

Local moves aren't really a thing for Old Dominion.

Old Dominion is basically a service of trailer drivers who haul stuff long distances. This system of moving is affordable because many people are renting out space in a trailer that will stop at different places along the way. For that reason, hiring Old Dominion for a local move isn't a great deal. To be honest, I'm not even sure the company will actually go through with a local move, such as mine from Fort Lee, NJ to Ridgefield Park, NJ. I signed up for it because the online system allowed me to do so and I wanted to break down the costs. But it's not practical and even the company itself does not recommend it.

Find out more about Old Dominion

Locations & Age of the Fleet

The company boasts having complete coverage of the continental United States. It has 226 service centers. Old Dominion initiated its household division in 2011, so the moving services arm of the business is relatively new. Their fleet includes more than 8,030 tractors and more than 32,061 trailers. The ages of the vehicles in the fleet seem to vary, according to the website. A customer service representative told me on the phone that the trailers regularly receive service and maintenance.

History

Even today, Old Dominion is still somewhat of a "family business". Launched in 1934 by Earl and Lillian Congdon, Old Dominion began with only a single truck that shuttled between Richmond and Norfolk, VA. From the 1930s through 1940s, the company experienced some growing pains, but also rapid growth; World War II saw the trucking company going back and forth between military bases, but when union workers protested Old Dominion, it led to the company briefly closing. It reopened again as a non-union business.

When Earl Congdon died in the 1950s, Lillian and their children took over the business and expanded. In the 1970s, there was serious growth with acquisitions of Barnes Truck Line, Nilson Motor Express, White Transport, Star Transport and Deaton Trucking. The 1980s brought freight deregulation, which allowed for more expansion. Through the late 1990s and early 2000s, led by family member David Congdon, the company continued to move into other parts of the country. Today, the company has Greg Gantt as its president and COO and David Congdon as vice chairman of the Board and CEO, maintaining the family connection all throughout its existence. Today, through agents and partnerships, they additionally provide international transportation in Canada, Mexico, Europe and China.

What Makes This Company Cool?

This is a winning company - literally. Over the years, Old Dominion garnered much recognition and many awards. In fact, Old Dominion won nine awards in 2016 alone, including recognition for the second year in a row from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

Fun Fact

Old Dominion is the official freight carrier of Major League Baseball (MLB). Naturally, it uses #homeplatefreight on social media.

Francesca Di Meglio

Contributing Author: Francesca Di Meglio

Francesca Di Meglio is a writer, editor, and moving professional featured on Businessweek and About.com. As a wife and mother of two little ones, she is always on the move.

Old Dominion® Reviews

Kenneth N
Plano, TX
Wrote a review on 3/8/2019
Old Dominion Review
(5 out of 5 rating)

Delivered and picked up as scheduled.

Distance: 1,100 mi
Cost: $3,300
Per. Mile: $3.00
SqFt. Moved: 2,700
Nikki P
Beaverton, OR
Wrote a review on 12/12/2018
Old Dominion Review
(5 out of 5 rating)

Everyone we interacted with at Old Dominion were nothing but a joy to work with. The drivers at every step (drop off and pick up in Portland and then again in Billings) were friendly, timely, and went above and beyond to get the trailer in the best possible position for us. The dispatchers were on top of everything and a pleasure to deal with. A stressful move was made much less so thanks to Old Dominion. Thank you everyone for a great experience.

Distance: 1,000 mi
Cost: $2,500
Per. Mile: $2.50
SqFt. Moved: 1,200
Ernie K
Saint Helens, OR
Wrote a review on 11/26/2018
Old Dominion Review
(5 out of 5 rating)

Very courteous and helpful. They replaced the trailer when I complained of difficulty with the door. And were spot on time with trailer delivery. Chose them because of a previous good experience,

Distance: 3,000 mi
Cost: $3,500
Per. Mile: $1.17
SqFt. Moved: 1,000
Shelly P
Conway, SC
Wrote a review on 10/10/2018
Old Dominion Review
(4 out of 5 rating)

Great option for a long distance move without spending an arm and a leg! We set up our move through U-pack movers. They dropped the trailer off and we had 3 days to pack it. We only paid for as much of the trailer as we used. I called when it was full and they picked it up and shipped it to our new place. We called to schedule drop off and then had up to 3 days again to be able to unpack. Call one last time to schedule pick up. Important information- make sure you have space for the trailer or storage pod to be able to sit for 3 days.

Distance: 600 mi
Cost: $2,500
Per. Mile: $4.17
SqFt. Moved: 2,000
Richard R
Worcester, MA
Wrote a review on 9/2/2018
Old Dominion Review
(5 out of 5 rating)

Originally thought of pods or conventional moving company. My wife thought of Old Dominion Household Services. Absolutely the BEST.

Distance: 900 mi
Cost: $2,400
Per. Mile: $2.67
SqFt. Moved: 1,600
Phil O
Brooklyn, NY
Wrote a review on 8/2/2018
Old Dominion Review
(5 out of 5 rating)

Old dominion was communicative and delivered the truck on time. Finding a parking space was hard but if you have them come out on a street cleaning day its much easier.

Distance: 1,200 mi
Cost: $2,000
Per. Mile: $1.67
SqFt. Moved: 600
Benjamin A
Andover, MN
Wrote a review on 6/30/2018
Old Dominion Review
(5 out of 5 rating)

OD was easy to contact and they delivered on time just as they said they would.

Distance: 1,200 mi
Cost: $5,600
Per. Mile: $4.67
SqFt. Moved: 6,017
Grace L
Concord, NC
Wrote a review on 5/25/2018
Old Dominion Review
(5 out of 5 rating)

Customer service was good and the containers were good condition. Yes, I would use them again.

Distance: 1,100 mi
Cost:
Per. Mile:
SqFt. Moved: 3,700
Keenan H
Royersford, PA
Wrote a review on 5/3/2018
Old Dominion Review
(5 out of 5 rating)

The service from begining to end was exceptional. The driver waited patiently as the truck was reloaded even though it took twice as long as expected. They were very curteous and professional and timely. The truck was also very nice with added features like straps and adjustable beams. Saved us a ton of money and very convenient.

Distance: 800 mi
Cost: $2,500
Per. Mile: $3.13
SqFt. Moved: 1,400
Anne B
Chesapeake, VA
Wrote a review on 4/16/2018
Old Dominion Review
(5 out of 5 rating)

Very pleasant staff and accommodating

Distance:
Cost: $1,650
Per. Mile:
SqFt. Moved: 2,000
Jeffrey T
Palos Park, IL
Wrote a review on 3/30/2018
Old Dominion Review
(4 out of 5 rating)

Been very helpful with our move. Only complaint is that when they estimate area needed on truck they don’t include anything in garage or patio, so we ran out of space and had to order a second truck, with extra cost. They should tell you before you book that those areas of the house are not included. We used 13 more feet of trailer space than they estimated. Over all happy with the service and would use them again.

Distance: 750 mi
Cost: $4,500
Per. Mile: $6.00
SqFt. Moved: 2,400
Kathryn H
Mountlake Terrace, WA
Wrote a review on 3/1/2018
Old Dominion Review
(4 out of 5 rating)

I would have given 5 if I had been told no refund if you only use 18' when you paid for 26'. You certainly get charged more if you go over.

Distance: 360 mi
Cost: $2,290
Per. Mile: $6.36
SqFt. Moved: 1,043

The Old Dominion® image above is used solely for identification purposes and serves as the primary means of visually identifying the subject of this article and provides an illustration of the entity that is represented.

Old Dominion® and Old Dominion Household Services® are a registered trademark of Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc. HireAHelper, LLC has no affiliation with Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc. Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc. has not authorized the use of its trademarks.

Reduce Stress. Book Movers Today.

It's safe, affordable, and easy. Move in a click.

What type of help do you need?
(not sure what you need?)